Parliamentary Dynamics Unfold: Motion of Thanks, NEET-UG Debates Dominate Indian Parliament

Parliamentary proceedings in India intensify as debates on NEET-UG irregularities and committee elections take center stage amidst the Motion of Thanks ritual.

As the first session of the 18th Lok Sabha gains momentum, parliamentary proceedings in India are set to witness crucial debates and motions, highlighting key issues facing the nation.

BJP leader Anurag Thakur is slated to present the Motion of Thanks for the President’s address in the Lok Sabha on Friday, with Prime Minister Narendra Modi expected to respond on July 2. This customary parliamentary procedure follows the President’s address to a joint sitting of Parliament, where the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha separately adopt motions expressing gratitude.

Following Anurag Thakur, BJP MP Bansuri Swaraj will second the motion, emphasizing the BJP’s acknowledgment of the President’s address and setting the stage for Prime Minister Modi’s response.

Simultaneously, the opposition INDIA bloc has signaled its intent to push for adjournment motions in both Houses to debate alleged irregularities in the National Eligibility Entrance Test-Undergraduate (NEET-UG) 2024. This decision, made during a meeting convened by Congress chief Mallikarjun Kharge, underscores growing concerns over the fairness of the examination process.

President Droupadi Murmu addressed the NEET-UG issue during her joint sitting speech, highlighting the government’s commitment to a thorough investigation and urging political unity in addressing the matter. In response, Congress chief Kharge criticized the Modi government, asserting that justice must be served to the aggrieved students and challenging the government’s stance on partisan politics.

The issue has gained significant traction following arrests made by the Bihar Police’s Economic Offence Wing (EOU), totaling 20 individuals implicated in the case thus far. The opposition’s move to initiate adjournment notices and discussions under Rule 267 in the Rajya Sabha reflects their determination to probe deeper into the alleged irregularities.

Amidst these debates, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Kiren Rijiju is set to oversee elections for key parliamentary committees. These include the election of 30 members to the Committee on Estimates and 15 members to the Committee on Public Accounts, crucial bodies tasked with overseeing government expenditures and financial accountability.

Rijiju will also move motions recommending the nomination of seven members from the Lok Sabha to join the Committee on Public Accounts of the Rajya Sabha, aiming to bolster inter-house cooperation on legislative oversight.

The ongoing session, which commenced on June 24 with the swearing-in of newly elected members, is scheduled to conclude on July 3. With a packed legislative agenda and critical debates on the horizon, including the Motion of Thanks, NEET-UG irregularities, and committee elections, the session promises to shape legislative priorities and political discourse in the coming weeks.

As parliamentary dynamics unfold, all eyes are on the outcomes of these deliberations, which will not only impact immediate legislative decisions but also set the tone for governance and accountability in India’s 18th Lok Sabha.

News Bureau
News Bureau
Business Headline is a digital news media organisation which covers news related to Business and Stock Market and Technology related news.

Latest articles

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here