Elections Results 2024: All Seats Declared, Check Which Party Won How Many

Congress gains traction in states like Rajasthan and Haryana, reflecting regional resurgence.

The Election Commission of India has declared the results for 542 out of 543 Lok Sabha constituencies, marking a significant moment in the country’s democratic process. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) emerges as the leading party, securing 240 seats, while the Congress trails behind with 99 seats. However, the outcome for the Beed constituency in Maharashtra remains pending, adding a layer of anticipation to the final results.

Despite facing challenges and a closely contested election, Prime Minister Narendra Modi appears poised to form the government for a third consecutive term. The BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) garners a majority in the Lok Sabha, a testament to Modi’s enduring popularity and the party’s organizational strength.

While the Lok Sabha comprises 543 members, counting was conducted for 542 seats after the BJP’s candidate in Surat, Mukesh Dalal, was elected unopposed. The results, declared early on Wednesday, reflect the BJP’s dominance, albeit with a slight reduction in its seat count compared to previous elections.

The BJP’s victory, attributed largely to Modi’s leadership, falls short of the 272-majority mark. Consequently, the party will rely on support from allies within the NDA for government formation. This scenario contrasts with the BJP’s landslide victories in 2019 and 2014 when it secured a majority on its own.

Key allies such as N Chandrababu Naidu’s Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and Nitish Kumar’s JD(U) played crucial roles in bolstering the NDA’s position. With 16 and 12 seats in Andhra Pradesh and Bihar, respectively, these allies contributed to crossing the halfway mark in the Lok Sabha.

On the opposition front, the Congress, part of the INDIA bloc, improves its seat tally compared to the previous election, winning 99 seats. The party’s gains in states like Rajasthan and Haryana reflect a resurgence in certain regions.

Meanwhile, regional parties like the Samajwadi Party in Uttar Pradesh and the Trinamool Congress in West Bengal remain influential players. The Samajwadi Party’s performance with 37 seats in Uttar Pradesh and the Trinamool Congress’s success with 29 seats in West Bengal underscore their significance in shaping regional dynamics.

However, the BJP’s performance falls short of the landslide victory projected by exit polls. Despite widespread anticipation, the results demonstrate a more nuanced electoral landscape, highlighting the diverse political preferences of Indian voters.

The 2024 Indian General Elections witnessed unprecedented participation, with over 640 million votes cast during the seven-phase electoral process from April 19 to June 1. This massive turnout underscores the vibrancy of India’s democracy and the engagement of its citizens in shaping the country’s future.

As the dust settles on the electoral battle, attention now turns to the formation of the new government and the policy direction it will take. With Modi set for a third term as Prime Minister, the coming years are poised to witness continued political and economic transformations in India.

Aryan Jakhar
Aryan Jakharhttps://www.aryanjakhar.com/
Aryan Jakhar, an Indian journalist, founded Business Headline and The Shining Media Group. Previously, he contributed to Indian media outlets including BusinessUpturn, Inc42, and the India Today Group.

Latest articles

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here