A much-requested feature that will let users modify messages within a 15-minute timeframe is being rolled out by WhatsApp, which is owned by Meta. Mark Zuckerberg, the CEO of the company, made the revelation that users of WhatsApp may now modify messages for up to 15 minutes after sending them in a post that was published on Facebook.
The ability to modify messages has begun to be made available to users in various parts of the globe, and it will be accessible to all users over the next several weeks.
“You can now edit your WhatsApp messages up to 15 mins after they’re sent! 😅”, Zuckerberg announced.
Even though WhatsApp is the most widely used messaging programme in the world, many of its users have been eagerly awaiting the addition of an edit message option. This is because users often send messages to one another in which there is an error or they write something that they later decide they do not want to express.
“We’re excited that you’ll now have more control over your chats, such as correcting misspellings or adding more context to a message. For this, within 15 minutes of sending the message, you have to tap and hold that message for a while and then select the option of ‘Edit’ from the menu,” WhatsApp wrote in a blog post.
The amended messages, on the other hand, will be tagged with the word “Edited,” which will indicate to the recipients of the message that it has been modified, but they will not be able to see the message’s previous versions or edit history. The business emphasised that WhatsApp messages and any modifications made to them are safeguarded by end-to-end encryption, just like all other personal communications, media files, and phone calls.
To refresh your memory, early in the month of March, the WhatsApp beta tracker WABetaInfo reported that WhatsApp was planning to implement a feature that would allow users to amend messages even after they had already been sent. According to the update for WhatsApp beta for iOS 188.8.131.52, a dedicated alert is now being developed. This alert will tell users when their updated message has been successfully transmitted to everyone involved in a WhatsApp chat. WABetaInfo said that this development is currently underway.